top of page
  • Writer's pictureNurdina Nisaa Filanti

Day 22 : Unforgettable Idul Adha

Today is every muslim’s big day. It’s Idul Adha! Idul Adha is the day of sacrifice. On this day, we’re muslims going to sacrifice a cow, camel, goat and distribute the meat to poor people. I feel so excited , because it’s my first time to have Idul Adha abroad, without my family. Then, my friends and I go to nearest mosque with multi cab to pray Idul Adha.

It took 10 minutes to the mosque, as soon as we’re arrived. My friends and I were shock and confused, because there’s no people in the mosque. We thought that we’re late for the pray. But then, a pick up car come with several people on it. And we saw several muslims on that car, then they’re seems like complaining for something, we don’t understand because they speak with local language. Then we asked them about what happened, they said the mosque was locked temporary because the Imam (leader) , the one who brought the key going to the city and do Idul Adha pray in the city. Turns out, the other muslims don’t agree with this decision. Because they believe that why do they have to pray at the city meanwhile they even have a mosque here. So, we’re pray with no Imam. My friends and I were really sad. Because usually in Indonesia, all we have to do is just come to the mosque and pray. But here in Surigao is a little bit different.




After pray, we met miss Aida and her family. We talk a lot with her about being muslim. They even took us to have a breakfast in their home which located behind the mosque. Then, they took us to local market to visit halal restaurant , but unfortunately it was closed.




4 views0 comments
bottom of page